Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe: Progeny Press Study Guide

  • 5 Units in Stock


Add to Cart:

Author: Andrew Clausen
Publisher: Progeny Press; loose-leaf format (in clear-front presentation folder)
Ages: 11-14
Grade: Middle School

Progeny Press Study Guides provide teachers, parents, and students with questions and comparisons from the firm, and timeless, foundation of the Bible. Their study guides deal with literature as works of art and philosophy; explain and use literary terms, and deal with plot construction; dig into why the characters act, believe, and feel as they do and examine what the Bible says in similar circumstances. Easy-to-use lessons include vocabulary exercises, comprehension and analysis, critical thinking, questions on related Biblical principles, activities, plus a complete answer key.

Author: C.S. Lewis
Chronicles of Narnia, Book 1 or Book 2 (see note below)

In this tale symbolic of the gospel, Peter, Susan, Edmund, and Lucy discover the magical land of Narnia where the evil White Witch has made it always winter but never Christmas. There they meet Aslan, the Great Lion and true ruler of Narnia. Though Aslan's return brings hope to the Narnians, that hope is crushed when Aslan gives himself in sacrifice to save Edmund from the Witch. Who will save Narnia now?

The Chronicles of Narnia: Original Numbering, Recommended
1. The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe
2. Prince Caspian
3. The Voyage of the Dawn Treader
4. The Silver Chair
5. The Horse and His Boy
6. The Magician's Nephew
7. The Last Battle

A Note on the Numbering: There is a fair case to be made for each numbering of the series. The series was not originally published in chronological order. This has its benefits--it allows the reader to make certain connections for themselves, and as a child this is especially satisfactory. However, according to the publisher, the series has been republished and renumbered in chronological order, according to the wishes of the author. Chronological order also ensures that the series is more easily recognized as allegorical. However, making that discovery on the reader's own, rather than being led to it by the chronological order, makes this a work of literature for children and adults alike.

The Chronicles of Narnia: Chronological Order
1. The Magician's Nephew
2. The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe
3. The Horse and His Boy
4. Prince Caspian
5. The Voyage of the Dawn Treader
6. The Silver Chair
7. The Last Battle


Copyright © 2020 Laurelwood Books. Responsive Zen Cart Template Designer Powered by Zen Cart